Poetry Books

I’ve never been good at poetry, I just don’t understand it. So these books are actually the hardest for me to go through, and even harder to discuss. The first Poetry Book, Job, is actually a story older than Jewish nation. It’s about a man, pre-Abraham who is tested by God. The Poems in the Psalms were written by people from Moses, to David, to Solomon. They are songs sung to remember God, plead for help, and to give worship. Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Song of Solomon were written by Solomon — the wisest man to ever live. The contrast is fantastic. Solomon shares his wisdom in Proverbs, gives the warning to not live a life like he did in Ecclesiastes, and beautiful picture of true love in the Song of Solomon. Most of the Poetry Books were written in the course of 2 lifetimes, written

Job:

1

  1. God honors those who fear him
  2. God gives and takes away

2

  1. God will not allow evil to hurt me more than I can bare
  2. God wants to grieve with the grieving

3

  1. God let’s bad things happen to good people

4

  1. God knows my heart

5

  1. I am strong in the Lord

6

  1. God allows bad things to happen to me, but not necessarily because of my sin

7

  1. God will not forget me

8

  1. God seeks justice

9

  1. I can claim nothing against God

10

  1. God hears my pain

11

  1. God is above question

12

  1. God is in control

13

  1. God doesn’t need me, I need him
  2. God’s presence is awesome

14

  1. God can bring me rest

15

  1. God is absolutely pure

16

  1. God is the true source of comfort

17

  1. God is the source of hope

18

  1. God will account for every sin

19

  1. God is the living redeemer

20

  1. God puts the wicked in their place

21

  1. God allows good things to happen to bad people

22

  1. God tests me

23

  1. God’s motives can’t always be guessed

24

  1. God let’s each man make his own choice

25

  1. God is powerful and dreadful

26

  1. God is powerful

27

  1. God will vindicate

28

  1. ‘The fear of the Lord is true wisdom; to forsake evil is real understanding’

29

  1. Pride belongs to God

30

  1. God can give and take blessings as he sees fit

31

  1. God wants perfection; without even a hint of impurity

32

  1. God is the spirit within me

33

  1. God rescues from the grave

34

  1. God doesn’t sin

35

  1. God will execute justice, even if it isn’t on my timetable

36

  1. God is the deliverer
  2. God is all powerful

37

  1. Nature obeys God

38

  1. God commands the universe

39

  1. God knows his creation

40

  1. God silences those who argue with him
  2. God humiliates the proud

41

  1. God is ruler of all creation

42

  1. God is greater than I am
  2. God will restore me if I ask him

Psalms

1

  1. If I follow the Lord I will always bear fruit and never be thirsty

2

  1. Serve with fear and rejoice with trembling

3

  1. The Lord is my shield

4

  1. The Lord set apart the godly for Himself

5

  1. The Lord hears my prayers

6

  1. I am dead and only the Lord can bring me back to life

7

  1. God is my shield

8

  1. Nothing in all creation is as great as the Lord’s name

9

  1. I am merely a man

10

  1. The Lord is King forever and ever

11

  1. No matter what happens, God is still in Heaven

12

  1. The Lord answers prayers

13

  1. The Lord is good to me

14

  1. God has restored His People

15

  1. If I love others like God has loved me, I will live a blameless life

16

  1. The Lord is my inheritance

17

  1. I pray because I know You will answer

18

  1. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior

19

  1. The Lord is my rock and redeemer

20

  1. I boast in the Lord

21

  1. The unfailing love of the Most High keeps me from stumbling

22

  1. I feel like God is far away, but I know that he is my strength and my sword

23

  1. The Lord keeps me safe

24

  1. Everything belongs to God

25

  1. Give the Lord my life and trust, and He will show me what path I should take and teach me to follow it

26

  1. My loyalty is in the Lord

27

  1. Be brave and wait patiently on the Lord

28

  1. The Lord gives me strength

29

  1. The Lord gives me strength and his blessing to me is peace

30

  1. God’s favor lasts a lifetime

31

  1. Be strong and courageous, and put all your hope in the Lord

32

  1. Love surrounds those who trust in the Lord

33

  1. My hope is in the Lord alone

34

  1. The Lord hears my prayers

35

  1. No one could compare to God

36

  1. Find shelter in the Lord

37

  1. Even though the godly stumble, they will never fall because the Lord holds their hand

38

  1. Sin is a disease

39

  1. My life is at best a single breath to the Lord

40

  1. God has delivered me

41

  1. Love the poor

42

  1. I need God like I need water

43

  1. When I am discouraged, the Lord is my safe haven

44

  1. I trust the Lord and not myself to save me

45

  1. The Lord will endure

46

  1. God is with me

47

  1. I belong to God

48

  1. God will make it safe for His people forever

49

  1. I should not fear because the Lord will live forever

50

  1. God seeks justice

51

  1. The sacrifice the Lord desires is a broken spirit

52

  1. God’s wrath pours out on those who do evil

53

  1. I am by nature, not good

54

  1. Praise God when you’re scared

55

  1. Give your burdens to the Lord and He will take care of you

56

  1. God is on my side

57

  1. I have faith in God, that’s why I can still sing praise

58

  1. There is a God who judges justly here on the Earth

59

  1. God is my refuge

60

  1. With God’s help, I will do mighty things

61

  1. God will protect me

62

  1. Power belongs to God

63

  1. I need God like I need water

64

  1. The Lord will strike down the wicked

65

  1. Even nature recognizes the power of God

66

  1. God’s love never fails me

67

  1. God will rule over everyone with justice

68

  1. Even the Earth trembles before God

69

  1. When I am in pain, cry out to God to rescue me

70

  1. When I am hurt, cry to God

71

  1. God has been with me, and will continue to be with me my entire life

72

  1. Jesus is the perfect king

73

  1. Despite my foolish thoughts, the Lord will still guide my heart

74

  1. No matter what, the Lord is still God

75

  1. God has given a warning that judgment will come

76

  1. The Lord is awesome

77

  1. The Lord will never leave me

78

  1. God makes the small great as He builds His kingdom

79

  1. God’s anger is short

80

  1. My salvation comes from God

81

  1. The Lord has heard my prayers and I have heard His voice

82

  1. God is the high judge

83

  1. The Lord is the Most High

84

  1. I am satisfied in the Lord

85

  1. The Lord has covered all my sins and offered me salvation

86

  1. No god is like my God

87

  1. The source of my life springs from Jerusalem

88

  1. Without God, my only friend is darkness

89

  1. God’s faithfulness has never failed me

90

  1. God fills my desires

91

  1. The Lord won’t leave me

92

  1. The Godly know the Lord is just

93

  1. The Lord’s reign is holy forever

94

  1. The Lord will destroy the wicked

95

  1. Sing praise to God

96

  1. The Lord is glorious and strong

97

  1. Righteousness and justice are the foundation of God’s throne

98

  1. The whole world has seen God’s victory

99

  1. The Lord is holy

100

  1. The Lord’s love endures forever

101

  1. I need the Lord to be able to live a blameless life

102

  1. God is strong and will endure forever

103

  1. God has separated me from my sins as far as the East is from the West

104

  1. God is responsible for everything that science can and cannot explain

105

  1. Never forget what God has done for me

106

  1. In all times, praise the Lord

107

  1. The Lord can rescue me from anything

108

  1. God can conquer any foe

109

  1. The Lord will curse the wicked

110

  1. Jesus is the Messiah

111

  1. The Lord is the foundation of wisdom

112

  1. The faithful will not be overcome by evil

113

  1. God’s kingdom expands into eternity

114

  1. The Earth fears God

115

  1. The Lord is my helper and shield

116

  1. I should pray as long as I have breath

117

  1. The Lord’s faithfulness endures forever

118

  1. God’s faithful love endures forever

119

  1. God’s word is true

120

  1. God is the peace giver

121

  1. The Lord faithfully watches over me

122

  1. I am the temple of God

123

  1. Always keep my eyes fixed on God

124

  1. My help comes from the creator

125

  1. The Lord is my fortress

126

  1. God does great things

127

  1. Without God, everything I do is worth nothing

128

  1. Fear the Lord

129

  1. The Lord has set me free

130

  1. The Lord can redeem me from any sin

131

  1. I put my hope in God

132

  1. Remember God before anything else

133

  1. Peace is a blessing from God

134

  1. Everyone who serves the Lord has holy hands

135

  1. The name of the Lord endures forever

136

  1. God’s love endures forever

137

  1. Always remember God’s gifts

138

  1. God’s love will endure forever

139

  1. God knows everything about me

140

  1. God gives justice

141

  1. God hears prayer

142

  1. God will rescue me

143

  1. Everyone on trial before God should be found guilty

144

  1. The Lord is my God

145

  1. All creation knows God’s greatness

146

  1. God’s reign will last forever

147

  1. God takes joy in those who fear Him

148

  1. God deserves prayer

149

  1. God loves nothing more than me

150

  1. Praise God

Proverbs

1

  1. Fear of the lord is the foundation of true knowledge
  2. When people entice me to sin, turn my back on them and stay away
  3. God is the source of wisdom

2

  1. Wisdom protects me from getting hurt

3

  1. The wise inherit honor, but fools are put to shame

4

  1. Don’t yield to temptation

5

  1. Don’t let my sins take me captive. Have self-control

6

  1. Sin always hurts someone

7

  1. Don’t let others lead me to sin

8

  1. If I search for wisdom, I will find it. Anyone who finds it will find life

9

  1. Be wise and accept correction from those with wisdom

10

  1. Trust God with everything that I have, and I will receive even more than I need

11

  1. Godly people find life, evil people find death

12

  1. My words will show whether I am godly or wicked

13

  1. Prosperity comes from wise counsel

14

  1. The Lord offers an escape from death

15

  1. Fear of the Lord teaches wisdom

16

  1. Make the Lord’s plans my plans

17

  1. Pride is foolishness

18

  1. The tongue brings life or death

19

  1. Don’t rely on money

20

  1. I am known by the way I act

21

  1. A life without charity soon becomes a miserable life

22

  1. Don’t compromise my values in exchange for money

23

  1. The greatest joy for a parent is to raise a child who is wise

24

  1. Wisdom is the foundational virtue for leaders

25

  1. Have self-control

26

  1. Beware of fools

27

  1. Trust my friends

28

  1. The Lord cares deeply about the law

29

  1. Love all people, not just easy ones to love

30

  1. Trust God to satisfy my needs

31

  1. Don’t let things come between me and God

Ecclesiastes

1

  1. I am never alone in anything that I experience
  2. Wisdom comes with the responsibility of knowing grief

2

  1. Pleasure only lasts for a moment
  2. Wisdom does not earn eternal life
  3. I should love life while I still can

3

  1. I should enjoy the fruits of my labor
  2. I should be happy in my work now

4

  1. History doesn’t change, but the future does
  2. There is nothing more valuable in life than friendship
  3. All my work is worth nothing, because it cannot earn me eternal life

5

  1. Be quick to listen to God, but be slow to speak to Him
  2. I cannot buy eternal life

6

  1. Love life while I am still alive

7

  1. Everything I have comes from God
  2. Let God be my wisdom

8

  1. Enjoy life and have fun

9

  1. There is life after death

10

  1. Words are powerful

11

  1. I can never be certain of anything in life

12

  1. My duty is to fear God

Song of Solomon

1

  1. God looks past my embarrassments and loves me

2

  1. The Lord pursues me

3

  1. I need to search desperately for God

4

  1. Despite what I see, God looks at me and sees nothing that displeases Him

5

  1. When I reject God, I risk having to find Him and suffering because of my sin

6

  1. God will never love me less

7

  1. God is love

8

  1. God keeps nothing from me, so I should keep nothing from Him

by 2 of the 4 ‘good’ kings of Israel (Judah) who loved God and worked to please him.

