I know I’m a little late, I explained that in my last post…. but the infamous doomsday clock has already been moved forward this year.

The doomsday clock was developed in 1947 to basically tell the world how close mankind is to an apocalyptic catastrophe. It has ranged everywhere from 17 minutes to midnight in 1991 at the end of the Cold War. The closest it has been was at 3 minutes to midnight in 1984.

Last year, because of diplomatic talks and some hope for an end to the war on terrorism, the doomsday clock moved back a minute. This year, already,  it has been moved forward. Cause for the move? Iran’s nuclear power is increasing, the nuclear plant in Japan, and climate issue policies are beginning to loosen.

I know, I know… the doomsday clock is even more abstract and subjective than the the long-count calendar, but it certainly does promote knowledge on major world events. It’s a great way to bring attention to issues that affect everyone, not just a small populace.

