I had a REALLY long and stressful day yesterday that ended with me going to sleep at 5:30p. I woke up this morning at 4:20a to one of my favorite sounds in the world. A THUNDERSTORM. I just moved to the Pretzel Palace two days ago, and I have no idea how I am the only person awake. 1. Thunderstorms are loud. 2. Thunderstorms are bright. 3. Thunderstorms are awesome.

I absolutely love watching thunderstorms, and if I thought my internet here reached as far as my car, I would have gone out there to get a much better view of the storm than the living room window. Something that’s really cool about thunderstorms is that instinctively everything is an awe of them. Adults tend to teach themselves to ignore them or whatnot, but look at children and animals. Children know the power of thunderstorms even though they have never been hurt by them. They wake up, they cry, they fear the storm. Think of how dogs respond to thunderstorms. They bark, they hide, they alert the family, they cuddle. They know the power of thunderstorms too.

Well, as I sat awake by myself for the past little bit, I got to to wondering about what people used to think of thunderstorms — before they became nuisances or not worthy of attention. So, I pulled out a history a book and started looking. Here’s what I found:

Jesus spoke about thunderstorms. Jesus said thunderstorms are a visual image of what it will be like when he returns. He says that people will point to all these hidden places (the wilderness, the inner room) and say that the Son of Man is there, but Jesus says it be like a thunderstorm. It will light up the sky from one side to the other. Everyone will see his coming, not a select few. That’s something to be in awe of. (Matthew 24 and Luke 17)

God spoke about thunderstorms: When speaking of wisdom, God spoke of powerful things that when asked don’t know wisdom. Wisdom can’t be found in the depths, it can’t be found jewels, mortals can’t understand its worth. Even death and destruction themselves have only heard of wisdom as a rumor. But with all these powerful things, God chose to use a thunderstorm as the example of his power. He said that he measured the water, he established the wind, and he set the path for the thunderstorm — that is how we know God is powerful. That is how we know wisdom is found only in God. Thunderstorms. Further, God, who is speaking from a storm by the way, uses thunderstorms as the example to put us in our place and remind us that we aren’t Him. He asks if you have seen the storehouses for hail or know how to get the place where lightning is dispersed. He asks who cuts the path for the storm to move through. God asks if you can shout at the clouds and make them rain. Do lightning bolts report to you and do you send them where they strike? —– So, how do I know that I am not God? Thunderstorms. (Job 28 and Job 30)

The prophet Isaiah spoke about thunderstorms: He used a thunderstorm to describe God. He says that when God brings judgment it will be like a thunderstorm. His voice will shatter nations, his arm will come down like a strike. He says that God’s arm will be like a thunderstorm and like hail and it will be like music as he keeps bringing his arm down. (Isaiah 30) Also God reiterates this to Ezekiel about the place where he is in Ezekiel 22.

I see a theme. Everything the Bible has to say about thunderstorms is about the power of God. People used to recognize the power of thunderstorms. Thunderstorms are a reminder of who God is, that you aren’t God, God’s awesome power, and that one day Jesus will return. After hearing all these messages, I can only imagine the reverent fear that the people in Biblical days must have had for thunderstorms. Thunderstorms were like a physical manifestation; a small snippet of God himself. It’s like God reveals himself to us through thunderstorms, and we shouldn’t just ignore them.

This is your meteorology lesson for today. This is your Bible study for today. Next time watch the thunderstorm. Thank you.

