Everybody knows that I am a big fan of Mark Driscoll Facebook statuses. I agree with about 80% of what Marks says, but he says so many outright provocative things. This is his most recent update. It had 100 replies within 10 minutes, 300 within an hour and at the time of writing, 600 replies.

So, what story do you have about the most effeminate anatomically male worship leader you’ve ever personally witnessed?

I reply to very few Mark Driscoll status updates, but some of them are just too good. It’s just too many replies to read them all, but I figured I’d give my readers my opinions. I have to be careful as I say this, especially since I’m moving in with 2 of the guys who lead worship in a couple days, but I think it’s fair to say that I attend a ‘hipster’ church. It’s not effeminate, but it certainly isn’t some uber-manly, insensitive church.

My first issue is with Mark’s obsession with gender roles. I’ve never been sure why he puts so much emphasis on men following some preset of values that he has determined to be masculine. Listening to his messages, sometimes it seems as if he’s only memorized about 10 passages (all about masculinity), because they get incorporated into every topic he preaches on.

Some of Mark’s fans are absolutely ridiculous. In skimming the replies I read everything from “this isn’t appropriate / edifying” to “all effeminate worship leaders are closet gays.” Of course, you have to throw in the occasional comment about the ‘sin of feminism’ and rapist priests. One of my personal favorites was that effeminate worship leaders are all going to hell because of 1 Corinthians 9-10 (in some versions, the effeminate are included in the list, in others it isn’t).

I think it takes a special personality to lead worship, especially to write it yourself. The pervasive macho man gender role isn’t the kind of personality that submits itself. It isn’t the personality that can let others sof ee it’s weakness. It isn’t the personality that can allow itself to show emotion. I’m not saying that it is impossible for a macho man to worship God or even lead worship, but I don’t think it is anyone else’s place to say that someone is inept or incapable of being a church leader based on their personality. It shouldn’t be considered a requirement for leadership that you follow a particular set of mannerisms.

anyone else got any thoughts?

