The past several weeks have been really exciting for me. I apologize for not posting anything new for two weeks, but so much has happened that I really haven’t had time to do anything.

As you might know from my last post, I graduated from college. I got my Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology. I also minored in psychology and political science. I felt like this was my worst semester of college, but it turned out to be my best. I was worried about failing right at the end and I got A’s in both of the classes that worried me, which was a big surprise!

I got a new job. I am a security officer for the university now. It seems silly, as the title is very similar to my title as a student, but the job is a lot different. The biggest part of my job is patrolling the dorms. The people who know my career goals know this isn’t what I actually want to do, but I promise there are very specific reasons why I chose to do this. First, the job market is terrible for people just leaving college. Second, staying with the department makes me a priority candidate when I am ready to make the next transition. Third, a pattern I’ve seen in our department is that the people who make it to the top almost invariably started out with my position now. Fourth, as security I receive a lot of training that officers must have (more to add to my list of qualifications on my resume). I’m really enjoying the job, except the hours. I’ve had a hard time adjusting to working overnight. It’s something I’d have to get used to as a police officer anyway, but it’s really hard to push through. I can’t sleep, but I have a hard time staying awake. I don’t know if that makes sense, but it is what it is. It’s currently 3am, but I’m awake even though I don’t work tomorrow so that I might be able to adjust. It’s tough, but I think it will pay off in the end.

Tim got married! I got to be in the wedding, which was really cool. It was kinda sad that we had to break up the apartment. We are all moving. Obviously, Tim moved in with Chelsy. Daniel is moving in with a couple other Cru interns. I am moving in with a couple guys from Salt. I’m really excited for this to happen. While I’ve really enjoyed living with them, I’m ready for a change.

For several years, I’ve been ready to be done with school. With my new job I’ve had a lot of time to just think to myself. I’m alone most of the time, and no one else is awake to talk to, so I’ve been thinking. I’m really considering going back to school. As much as I love UofI, I don’t think there is any master’s program here for me. I think I’d like to work online to get a master’s from Kaplans school of criminal justice. They have a couple programs that sound interesting, and I just have to figure out which route I want to pursue: general criminal justice, fire, or homeland security.

At the moment I can’t think of anything else, but if I do I’ll make an update or maybe a whole new post in the next couple days.

